Awards and Special Attainments

  1. Devi Award of the New Indian Express Group, August 2015.Photos-icon
  2. Stree Shakti Awardee of the Aditya Pratishthan, Pune, India, April 2015.
  3. Invitee for the C.V. Raman Lecture of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) organized by the Indian Physics Association (IPA), Mount Carmel College, Bangalore chapter of IPA, January 2015.
  4. D.A.E. Raja Ramanna Lecture Invitee, J.N. Centre for Advanced Scienti_c Research, October 2014.
  5. Awarded D. Litt. (Honoris Causa) by the S.N.D.T. Women’s University- one of the first Women’s University in South East Asia-, Mumbai, December 2013.Photos-icon
  6. Elected Staff Associate of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics,Trieste, Italy (2013-2015).
  7. C.V. Raman Mahila Vijnana Puraskara of the Matru Vedike of the Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana- Karnataka, 2010.
  8. Elected fellow of the Academy of Sciences of the Developing World (TWAS) (2010).
  9. Satyendranath Bose Medal for Theoretical Physics of the Indian National Science Academy, 2008.Photos-iconPhotos-icon
  10. J.C. Bose fellowship of the Department of Science and Technology of India, 2008-2018.
  11. Meghnad Saha Medal for Theoretical Physics of the Asiatic Society, 2007.
  12. Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad, India (2007).
  13. MSIL Chair for Physical Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, October 2006- October 2009.
  14. Rustom Choksi Award for Excellence in Research in Science of the Indian Institute of Science (2006)
  15. Awarded the ‘Jawaharlal Nehru Centenary Visiting Fellowship’ of the Indian National Science Academy (2005).
  16. Awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award by the Indian Institute of Technology, Powai, India (2004).Photos-icon
  17. Elected Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, Delhi (2003).
  18. Invited to present the plenary talk in the `International conference on Women in Physics’ held by IUPAP (March 2001) in Paris as the `Asian’ success story.
  19. Awarded the Sheel Memorial Award for the Best Woman Scientist Lecture-2000, NationalAcademy of Sciences,India, (2000).
  20. Elected Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, (1992).
  21. Elected Young Associate of Indian Academy of Sciences,(1985-1988).
  22. Associate Member of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics: (1984-1992) (1995- 2001).